Conservatives refuse to debate SPP at public forum

Conservatives refuse to debate SPP at public forum

Postby Oscar » Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:59 am

Conservatives refuse to debate SPP at public forum

To: "G.Breitkreuz, MP" <breitg1@parl.gc.ca>; "Prime Minister Harper" <Harper.S@parl.gc.ca>; "Strahl, C. Min. Ag" <Strahl.C@parl.gc.ca>; "Clement, T. Min.Health" <Minister_Ministre@hc-sc.gc.ca>; "Baird, J. MP-Env." <Baird.J@parl.gc.ca>
Cc: "GlobalResearch.ca" <crgeditor@yahoo.com>; "Greenpeace Canada" <ems@thindataworks.com>; "David Suzuki Foundation" <contact@davidsuzuki.org>; "Dion, S. LIB" <dions@parl.gc.ca>; "Finley, S. GPS" <sabest1@sasktel.net>; "Fogal, C. CAP" <conniefogal@telus.net>; "Julian, P. MP" <Julian.P@parl.gc.ca>; "Karwaki,D.SK Lib." <contact@davidkarwacki.ca>; "May, E. GPC" <emay@magma.ca>; "Parkland Institute" <parkland@ualberta.ca>; "Pembina Institute" <danw@pembina.org>; "Premier Calvert" <premier@gov.sk.ca>; "NDP Caucus" <caucus@ndpcaucus.sk.ca>; "Sierra Club - Can." <scc-green-gazette@list.sierraclub.ca>; "SK Party Caucus" <info@skcaucus.com>; "Wall, B. Sask Party" <bwall@mla.legassembly.sk.ca>

Sent: Wednesday, August 08, 2007 9:55 AM

Subject: MEDIA RELEASE: Conservatives refuse to debate SPP at public forum

MEDIA RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 8, 2007

Conservatives refuse to debate SPP at public forum

Ottawa - The Conservative Party is the only major federal party to refuse an offer to participate in a public forum dealing with the Security and Prosperity Partnership (SPP) on the eve of the Leaders' summit in Montebello.

The Council of Canadians, one of the key organizers of the August 19 event in Ottawa, has received confirmations from the Liberal Party, the New Democratic Party and the Bloc Québécois, who will all be sending MPs to participate in a political panel at the public forum. Elizabeth May, the leader of the Green Party, will also be participating.

"The opposition is acknowledging that the SPP has to be discussed with the public," says Maude Barlow, Chairperson of the Council of Canadians. "We've issued four separate invitations to Conservative MPs, all of which were rejected."

"If the Conservative government believes the SPP is so beneficial to Canada," argues Barlow, "why aren't they willing to discuss its merits and bring it to the House for a vote?"

The public forum was to take place at a community centre in Papineauville, six kilometres from the Chateau Montebello where Prime Minister Stephen Harper will be meeting with U.S. President George Bush and Mexican President Felipe Calderòn. The Municipality of Papineauville later informed the Council of Canadians that the RCMP, the Sûreté du Québec (SQ) and the U.S. Army would not allow the municipality to rent the Centre communautaire de Papineauville for the event.

Founded in 1985, the Council of Canadians is Canada's largest citizens' organization, with members and chapters across the country. The organization works to protect Canadian independence by promoting progressive policies on fair trade, clean water, safe food, public health care, and other issues of social and economic concern to Canadians.

-30-

For more information, contact: Meera Karunananthan Media Officer:
613.233.4487 ext. 234, cell: 613.795.8685; meera@canadians.org

Brent Patterson
Director of Campaigns / Organizing
The Council of Canadians
700-170 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5V5
1-800-387-7177 ext. 291
bpatterson@canadians.org
www.canadians.org
Oscar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8381
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 3:23 pm

Return to TRADE AGREEMENTS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron