Nuclear Treaty Ban - 12 States join

Nuclear Treaty Ban - 12 States join

Postby Oscar » Thu Oct 24, 2019 9:14 am

12 States join the Nuclear Ban Treaty on the 2019 International Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons

[ ... pons-2019/ ]

September 27, 2019

On the International Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons, 12 states took another significant step towards achieving this goal by signing or ratifying the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, during a special High-Level Ceremony at the UN Headquarters in New York.

The five nations that ratified during the ceremony are:

Trinidad & Tobago

These states are also joined by Ecuador, which became the 27th state to ratify the Treaty on September 25th, one day before the ceremony.

The following states signed on to the Treaty: Botswana, Dominica, Grenada, Lesotho, St Kitts and Nevis, Tanzania and Zambia, as well as the Maldives and Trinidad and Tobago (as the latter two states both signed and ratified the Treaty during the ceremony).

The treaty now has 79 signatories and 32 States Parties. By signing, a State commits to not take any action that would undermine the treaty’s object and purpose. Upon depositing its instrument of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession, a state becomes legally bound by the terms of the treaty. When the Treaty has 50 states Parties it will enter into force, making nuclear weapons illegal under international law.

The ceremony was hosted by long-time champions of the Treaty: Austria, Brazil, Costa Rica, Indonesia, Ireland, Mexico, New Zealand, Nigeria, South Africa and Thailand and enabled presidents and foreign ministers to take this important step while they were gathered at the UNGA.

Newly-elected President of the UN General Assembly, Mr Tijjani Muhammad-Bande of Nigeria, opened the ceremony, and spoke passionately in support of the Treaty’s importance in ending nuclear weapons. “We commend states that have joined TPNW and urge those who have not done so to do join in this most vital action,“ he said during his address to the UNGA Plenary event earlier in the day.

Beatrice Fihn, Executive Director of ICAN, celebrated the move by these 12 countries and the outspoken support for the Treaty around the world throughout the day. “Away from most cameras, we come together to do the actual work of nuclear disarmament. For the good of your people and the good of the world you propel the Treaty toward entry-into-force […] Today, in this room, I feel the scale tilting toward the Elimination of Nuclear Weapons. This day of action gives us all hope at a bleak time.”

After today, the treaty is almost two-thirds of the way to its entry into force, and this momentum is expected to continue. Several countries have confirmed to ICAN that their ratifications are imminent, and campaigners around the world will not stop until every country is on board.
Site Admin
Posts: 8640
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 3:23 pm

Re: Nuclear Treaty Ban - 12 States join

Postby Oscar » Thu Oct 24, 2019 9:15 am

From: Gordon Edwards
Sent: Wednesday, October 23, 2019 11:23 PM
Subject: 12 States join Nuclear Ban Treaty on 2019 International Day for Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons

To all those who have endorsed the Montreal Declaration for a Nuclear Fission Free World:


ICAN — the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons, winner of the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize —is proud to announce the patient and persistent progress in securing world-wide support for the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. The treaty will "make nuclear weapons illegal" under international law when it enters into force in the next couple of years.

Already 80 States have signed the Treaty (the Caribbean island of Dominica signed this past week), and 32 States have ratified the Treaty to become “States Parties” to the Treaty. Conspicuously absent are those nations possessing their own stash of nuclear weapons, including the Five Permanent Members of the UN Security Council and four other countries that have clandestinely developed their own nuclear arsenals: India, Pakistan, Israel, and North Korea.

In addition, Canada and other members of NATO have been told in no uncertain terms not to sign the Treaty, because of NATO’s reliance on nuclear weapons as “essential” to its security. In fact NATO doctrine dictates that the military alliance could be the first to use nuclear weapons if NATO were involved in a military conflict in which conventional weapons are inadequate to win the day.

In all the years that NATO has existed (it is, after all, a relic of the Cold War) the only head of state that has ever had the courage to publicly criticize and disagree with the NATO nuclear doctrine was Prime Minister Pierre Elliot Trudeau, but evidently his son, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, is not inclined to follow his father’s example on this matter. Canadians have an obligation to remind the Prime Minister of his obligations to humanity at large, and urge him to sign the Treaty on behalf of all Canadians.

The NATO doctrine is self-defeating. It is contrary to the legal obligation, binding on all those who have signed the Non-Proliferation Treaty, to ensure the elimination of nuclear weapons. NATO is not only ignoring that legal obligation, but promulgates erratic logic that guarantees the continued spread of nuclear weapons to more and more countries and even to terrorist groups and criminal organizations as well. For if nuclear weapons are essential to security, as NATO states, the same argument applies to any nation in the world. Every nation should have its own nuclear weapons for their own “security”!

Thus the NATO stance promotes global insecurity and promises an eventual nuclear armageddon, as any armed conflict anywhere on Earth can quickly evolve into a nuclear holocaust.

See [ ].

Gordon Edwards, President
Canadian Coalition for Nuclear Responsibility
Site Admin
Posts: 8640
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 3:23 pm

Return to Uranium/Nuclear/Waste

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests