Contact your Liberal MP - keep your election promise!!

Contact your Liberal MP - keep your election promise!!

Postby Oscar » Fri May 12, 2017 9:07 am

Quill Plains and Prince Albert chapters encourage calls to 43 Liberal MPs on electoral reform

[ ... ral-reform ]

May 10, 2017 - 3:40 pm

The Council of Canadians Quill Plains (Wynyard) and Prince Albert chapters are calling on chapter activists and the public across the country to call their Liberal Member of Parliament to encourage them to support electoral reform in a vote expected to take place in the House of Commons within the next three weeks.

Chapter activists Elaine Hughes and Nancy Carswell note, "The Liberals campaigned on an election promise to ensure that 2015 would be the last election using first-past-the-post and that they would every vote count in the 2019 election. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau broke then that promise. He claimed that following the cross-country consultation meetings, there was no clear consensus of what Canadians wanted and there would be change in the system we use to elect our decision-makers."

Trudeau said that even though almost 90 per cent of the witnesses who presented to the House of Commons Special Committee on Electoral Reform support proportional representation. . . . . . . ?

Hughes and Carswell add that there will be a vote on electoral reform in the House of Commons this month.

They then list the 43 Liberal MPs who answered 'yes' when asked by Fair Vote Canada before the 2015 election if they "feel the number of MPs elected to Parliament from each party should be roughly proportional to the number of votes cast for that party’s candidates."

Hughes and Carswell are encouraging people to contact their MP to remind them of their promise, especially if they are one of the 43 MPs listed below:

1- Hon. Amarjeet Sohi (Edmonton Mill Woods) 613-992-1013
2- Robert-Falcon Ouellette (Winnipeg Centre) 613-992-5308
3- Hon. Jim Carr (Winnipeg South Centre) 613-992-9475

4- Hon. Lawrence MacAulay (Cardigan) 613-995-9325
5- Matt DeCourcey (Fredericton) 613-992-1067
6- Darrell Samson (Sackville-Preston-Chezzetcook) 613-995-5822
7- Robert Morrissey (Egmont) 613-992-9223
8- Hon. Wayne Easter (Malpeque) 613-992-2406

British Columbia
9- Terry Beech (Burnaby North-Seymour) 613-992-0802
10- Hon. Carla Qualtrough (Delta) 613-992-2957
11- John Aldag (Cloverdale-Langley City) 613-992-0884
12- Ken Hardie (Fleetwood-Port Kells) 613-996-2205
13- Hon. Jody Wilson-Raybould (Vancouver-Granville) 613-992-1416
14- Joyce Murray (Vancouver-Quadra) 613-992-2430
15- Hon. Harjit Sajjan (Vancouver-South) 613-995-7052
16- Jonathan Wilkinson (North Vancouver) 613-995-1225

17- Jennifer O’Connell (Pickering-Uxbridge) 613-995-8082
18- Leon Alleslev (Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill) 613-992-0700
19- Sonia Sidhu (Brampton South) 613-995-5381
20- Neil Ellis (Bay of Quinte) 613-992-0752
21- Kim Rudd (Peterborough South) 613-992-8585
22- John Oliver (Oakville) 613-995-4014
23- Karen McCrimmon (Kanata-Carleton) 613-992-1119
24- Hon. Catherine McKenna (Ottawa-Centre) 613-996-5322
25- Anita Vandenbeld (Ottawa West-Nepean) 613-990-7720
26- Anthony Rota (Nippissing-Timiskaming) 613-995-6255
27- Nathaniel Erskine Smith (Beaches-East York) 613-992-2115
28- Arif Virani (Parkdale-High Park) 613-992-2936
29- Shaun Chen (Scarborough North) 613-996-9681
30- Lloyd Longfield (Guelph) 613-996-4758
31- Hon. Maryam Monsef (Peterborough-Kawartha) 613-995-6411
32- Hon. Karina Gould (Burlington) 613-995-0881
33- Omar Alghabra (Mississauga) 613-992-1301
34- Hon. Andrew Leslie (Orléans) 613-995-1800
35- David McGuinty (Ottawa South) 613-992-3269
36- Hon. Patty Hajdu (Thunder Bay-Superior North) 613-996-4792
37- Rob Oliphant (Don Valley West) 613-992-2855
38- Hon. John McKay (Scarborough-Guildwood) 613-992-1447
39- Raj Saini (Kitchener Centre) 613-995-8913
40- Marwan Tabbara (Kitchener South-Hespeler) 613-992-1063
41- David Lametti (LaSalle-Émard-Verdun) 613-943-6636
42- Alexandra Mendès (Brossard-Saint-Lambert) 613-995-9301
43- Greg Fergus (Hull-Aylmer) 613-992-7550

For good arguments in support of electoral reform/ proportional representation, please see the Fair Vote Canada website here:
[ ]

Tags: chapters
[ ]

Brent Patterson's blog
Political Director of the Council of Canadians
[ ]
Site Admin
Posts: 8372
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 3:23 pm

Return to 2016 - Canada's ELECTORAL REFORM BEGINS!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests